Dependent Relocation

Booked on a nonstop, round-trip flight, I travel to Mexico City to visit LCP, who’s working there on a 3-month job rotation. I approach airport security and see my ticket is marked, TSA Pre-Check. Effortlessly, I clear security – no need to wait in a long line, to unpack my laptop or to undress. Nice. Sitting at the gate, I notice my flight reservation lists the purpose of my trip: dependent relocation. Classic, I’m now a dependent of my child. Role reversal at its best. Thank you, Apple!

It’s a 3 hour flight from Phoenix to Mexico, DF.  I’m pretty much the only non-Hispanic onboard, except for the AA flight crew, and oddly, I feel at home.  Spanish is being spoken all around me, and I’m picking up intermittent words, gracias, por favor, buenos días, hola, porque…I get out my phone and open the app, iTranslate, practicing conversational Spanish during my flight.

I land in Mexico City. With a slight wait in baggage claim, a quick pass through customs, and a leisurely exit into the airport’s passenger greeting area, I see a sign with my name on it.  A guide, Geraldo, has been sent to transfer me to LCP’s hotel. Geraldo has a driver, so he sits next to me in the back of the van.  Geraldo speaks little English, and I speak little Spanish, so we communicate by handing our cell phones back and forth with our Google translators going full throttle. Incredibly, we were able to converse – thank you, Technology!

LCP meets me on the curb of her hotel and leads me upstairs to her temporary home.

IMG_8937

After a Corona Lights and chips & salsa welcoming snack, we take an Uber to the Roma neighborhood, Mexico City, and have a pre-dinner drink at the hip bar, Blanco Colima.

IMG_8939

– cheers-ing Apple for bringing us to Mexico City!

IMG_8940
Don Julio tequila & lime juice shots

We then go next door to Rosetta, a quaint restaurant tucked behind huge wooden doors on the first floor of a colonial townhouse. Known for its seasonal menu, Rosetta is the perfect place for us to begin our Mexico City experience! IMG_8945

IMG_8951

IMG_8950

after dinner port
after dinner port
IMG_8954
Rosetta, the Roma neighborhood, Mexico City

Beautiful wine service, fresh, delicious food and a magical ambiance have us anxiously anticipating our week together, exploring this city, compliments of Apple, Inc., and have left me, a relocation dependent, speechless in both Spanish and English.

All I can say is,

role reversal rocks – rocas de revocación del papel

2 thoughts on “Dependent Relocation

  1. so glad you are LCP’s dependent.

    On Wed, Jul 20, 2016 at 11:25 AM, RP Stillworks Photography wrote:

    > rpstillworks posted: “Booked on a nonstop, round-trip flight, I travel to > Mexico City to visit LCP, who’s working there on a 3-month job rotation. I > approach airport security and see my ticket is marked, TSA Pre-Check. > Effortlessly, I clear security – no need to wait in a long” >

Leave a Reply

