Half-Staff

When the sun and the Stars and Stripes align,

Light miraculously lifts the somberness of a flag at

half-staff .

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset
Half-Staff

I took this image of our flag at half-staff with my iPhone at a car dealership on a busy Phoenix street.  A car salesman approached me as I kneeled down to take the photo in the overhead, bright noonday light.  After proudly disclosing he is a photographer, the car salesman recommended I return at sunset, since the setting sunlight looks so good on the flag. I thanked him for allowing me on his dealership’s lot, while clicking the button on my phone’s screen. He continued with his instructions, advising the best angle to shoot the shot, and I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s telling “half [his] staff” about the female on the car lot taking a photo in the worst light imaginable.

When we’re led by Light, we’re usually blinded by it,  believing certain Light only happens once, so we’ve only got one shot – and it’s our own.

 

One thought on “Half-Staff

  1. This is just beautiful!

    On Sat, Jul 9, 2016 at 4:38 PM, RP Stillworks Photography wrote:

    > rpstillworks posted: “When the sun and the Stars and Stripes align, Light > miraculously lifts the somberness of a flag at Half Staff . ” >

Leave a Reply

