16 Cents

A text and an accompanying photo this Friday afternoon from LCP on a San Francisco bus:

“This homeless man on the bus in San Fran wheeled his wheelchair next to me and immediately said he remembers certain people and that he recognized me and my bracelet from bay to breakers [may 19] and he said, ” you were with a blonde boy…I recognize you. I sit here every day.”

I gave him all I had – 16 cents and a fortune that I’d saved. The fortune reads, “nothing is accomplished without passion.” He tucked my fortune into his wallet.

At first I told him that I only had 16 cents and apologized…and he told me, “it’s not the amount of money, it’s where it comes from. You know what love is? It’s not a feeling – it’s giving. For God so loved the world he gave – for God so loved the world he gave.”

Then he counted the change and said, “16 cents, I think you may have just changed my luck. 16 is lucky, you know. Do you remember the song 16 candles? Sixteen candles in my heart will glow/for ever and ever for I love you so (for I love you so.)””

Does he know the significance of the #16 to LCP? Maybe, maybe not. The month and day of her birth. The number that anchors her computer usernames. The number she puts on her back in sports. The number she, too, already considers lucky.  Does he know it was a complete coincidence that the only money she had with her on this day was 16 cents. Maybe, maybe not.

+

Does he know that he appears to be winking in this photo?

 Maybe, maybe not,

But to us, moments like these aren’t coincidental or lucky.

No, moments like these are when God winks -when we’re connected to Him through others. These moments are messages that He gives to us to tuck away inside ourselves.

“Nothing is accomplished without passion.”
 

One thought on “16 Cents

Leave a Reply

